Japan to welcome visa-free individual tourists from October 11

It’s now official: from October 11, Japan will allow international tourists from 68 countries to enter the country without a visa and the requirement to participate in an organized trip will be lifted.

Expected for many months, these relaxations were mentioned last week by the local media before being made official today by the Japanese Prime Minister, Fumio Kishida, during a press conference on the sidelines of the General Assembly of United Nations in New York.

Japan’s prime minister also confirmed that starting October 11, the cap on daily arrivals will be removed and the country will launch a nationwide travel discount program, which had been put on hold due to the spread of Covid-19 infections. 19 reports the Japan Times.

“I hope a lot of people will use it. I want to support the travel, entertainment and other industries that have struggled during the coronavirus pandemic,” Kishida said according to the Japanese daily.

However, it remains important to wait for the precise details of the application of these relaxations of the entry conditions, some local newspapers mentioning the need to be triple vaccinated to claim entry without a visa in the near future…

European tourists will no longer need a visa

While it had unilaterally suspended its visa-free policy in March 2020 due to the rapid and global spread of Covid-19, Japan resumed issuing tourist visas in June 2022 during the partial reopening of its international borders. .

To obtain the visa, travelers had to go to a Japanese embassy in order to submit their application in person, containing in particular proof of reservation of an organized tour.

From October 11, 2022, the visa exemption for entry to Japan will therefore be reactivated for tourists and business travelers who are citizens of the 68 countries below who will be able to stay up to 90 days in the country without a visa:

  • EUROPE: Germany, Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Denmark, Spain, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, North Macedonia, Malta, Monaco, Norway, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Czech Republic, Romania, United Kingdom, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden and Switzerland.
  • AMERICA : Argentina, Bahamas, Barbados, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, United States, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Suriname and Uruguay.
  • AFRICA: Lesotho, Mauritius and Tunisia.
  • MIDDLE EAST : United Arab Emirates, Israel and Turkey.
  • OCEANIA: Australia and New Zealand.
  • ASIA: Brunei, South Korea, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Macao, Malaysia, Singapore, Taiwan and Thailand.

Leave a Comment